PittPharmacy won the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association’s 2016 Achieving Independence Competition during PPA’s Annual Conference held at the Crowne Plaza Philadelphia- King of Prussia on September 24, 2016. This competition is designed to foster the budding entrepreneurial pharmacy students to one day own their own pharmacy. Students create a business plan based on either starting up a brand new pharmacy in Pennsylvania or purchasing an existing pharmacy and implement creative changes.

Members of the winning team and of PittPharmacy Class of 2018 are Heather Johnson, Harry Wilkinson, Addie Brown, and Elyse Tomaszewski. Their faculty coach was Assistant Professor Bridget Regan, MBA, RPh. Their mentor was Greg Drew RPh, and independent coach was Brandon Antinopoulos, PharmD.

Additionally teams from Jefferson College of Pharmacy, LECOM School of Pharmacy, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Wilkes University Nesbitt School of Pharmacy also participated in the competition.

 This was the fifth year in a row that a Pitt team has won this competition!


Leave a comment