PittPharmacy’s Alpha Omicron Chapter of the Rho Chi Society was selected as the recipient of the 2015-2016 Chapter Achievement Award. The announcement was made at the Rho Chi Society’s Annual Meeting, held in conjunction with the American Pharmacists Association Annual Meeting and Exposition in San Francisco, California, March 2017. Current chapter president, Addie Brown, was present to accept the award.

The Chapter Achievement Award recognized the full scope of the chapter’s accomplishments throughout the 2015-16 academic year when class of 2017 pharmacy student, Keito Hoshitsuki, served as chapter president. Among the notable activities were the “Posters, Professors, and Progress” and “Showcase of Student Research Posters” sessions during which students and faculty shared scholarly work to encourage and recognize intellectual achievement and critical inquiry. The chapter also collaborated with PittPharmacy’s Pharmacy Leadership Society to host a professional lecture series. Each chapter event serves to further the Rho Chi mission to encourage and recognize intellectual achievement, stimulate critical inquiry to advance pharmacy, contribute to the development of intellectual leaders, promote high ethical standards, and foster collaboration.

Faculty members Susan M. Meyer, PhD, the current Rho Chi national president elect, and Susan J. Skledar, RPh, MPH, FASHP  serve as co-advisors for the Alpha Omicron chapter.

Leave a comment